Live webinar
1CEcredit
Thursday 28 June, 10:00 AM New York

Novel low-dose protocols for 3D imaging in oral and maxillofacial radiology: a game changer?

Speaker(s): Prof. Dr. med. dent. Michael M. Bornstein

The webinar will discuss problems related to radiation dose exposure in oral radiology, and strategies to reduce radiation specifically for 3-dimensional imaging such as cone beam computed tomography.

  Days
:
   Hours
:
   Minutes
:
   Seconds
Register Now

Please login or register

In order to register for a webinar you must be a member of our website. If you already have an account, please login.

If you don't have an account yet, please register. Registration is completely free and it only takes a minute.


Become a member for free
add to calendar

Add the webinar to your calendar

other time zones

Course date in other time zones

Los Angeles, USA

28 Jun 2018, 07:00 AM

New York, USA

28 Jun 2018, 10:00 AM

London, United Kingdom

28 Jun 2018, 03:00 PM

Berlin, Germany

28 Jun 2018, 04:00 PM

Bucharest, Romania

28 Jun 2018, 05:00 PM

Moskow, Russian Federation

28 Jun 2018, 05:00 PM

Islamabad, Pakistan

28 Jun 2018, 07:30 PM

New Delhi, India

28 Jun 2018, 07:30 PM

Bangkok, Thailand

28 Jun 2018, 09:00 PM

Hanoi, Vietnam

28 Jun 2018, 09:00 PM

Beijing, China

28 Jun 2018, 10:00 PM

Philipines

28 Jun 2018, 10:00 PM

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

28 Jun 2018, 10:00 PM

Singapore

28 Jun 2018, 10:00 PM

Taiwan

28 Jun 2018, 10:00 PM

Hong Kong

28 Jun 2018, 10:00 PM

Sydney

29 Jun 2018, 12:00 AM

Novel low-dose protocols for 3D imaging in oral and maxillofacial radiology: a game changer?

Prof. Dr. med. dent. Michael M. Bornstein

The webinar will discuss problems related to radiation dose exposure in oral radiology, and strategies to reduce radiation specifically for 3-dimensional imaging such as cone beam computed tomography.

The introduction of cone beam computed tomography (CBCT) has created new diagnostic possibilities in dental medicine. Although computerised tomography (CT) has been available for quite some time, its use in dentistry has always been limited because of cost, access, and radiation. Nevertheless, for three-dimensional (3D) imaging using CBCT, there is still considerable ambiguity in offering a decisive suggestion to routinely use this technique for diagnostic procedures. The main reason for this is that the radiation dose of CBCT, despite being lower than that of conventional CT, negates routine clinical usage, when one applies the principle of as low as reasonable achievable (ALARA). Recently, low-dose protocols have been recommended to assist practitioners in dose optimisation. However, in practice, dentists are likely to depend on the manufacturers‘ instructions on appropriate exposure settings, so it is encouraging that new low-dose protocols have also been developed by manufacturers. While low-dose protocols for CBCT devices are possible and even marketed today by many brands available, there is no or only limited evidence to demonstrate their diagnostic quality and acceptability for diagnostic imaging in various disciplines of dental medicine. This lecture will focus on the potential of low-dose protocols with novel CBCT devices, their potential implementation into daily practice, and future developments in diagnostic imaging in the oral and maxillofacial region.


Release date: Thursday 28th June, 2018, 10:00 AM
Expiration date: Sun, 27 June 10:00 AM EST (New York)

"Novel low-dose protocols for 3D imaging in oral and maxillofacial radiology: a game changer?" is co-sponsored by Tribune Group GmbH. Tribune Group GmbH is a recognized ADA CERP and AGD PACE provider.

Speaker(s)

Prof. Dr. med. dent. Michael M. Bornstein

Speaker(s)

Leave a Reply